Task Templates make it easy to create reusable bundles of Closing Tasks, Custom Tasks, and Non-Transaction Questions that can be applied to new or existing clients in Double.
These templates are ideal for standardizing recurring workflows and ensuring consistency across clients.
For example, Task Templates can be created for client onboarding, cleanups, eCommerce client processes, or payroll tasks specific to different payroll systems.
Once created, a Task Template can be applied to any existing client, and multiple templates can be added when setting up a new client.
Video Overview
Template manager
Navigate to templates from the client list, or from the close itself. All templates (not just task templates) are accessible here. Standard users will not have access to the Template Manager.
From the client list
Select the Templates tab to review all templates.
From the close page
Select the arrow next to the Home button.
Create a new task template
Title the template
Choose sections to add
Add tasks (or non-transaction questions) as needed
Save your work
Close assignees within task templates
When a task within a template is assigned to the Preparer, Reviewer, or Manager, that task will automatically be assigned to the corresponding role for each client once applied.
Changing the close assignee
When the close assignee (Preparer, Reviewer, or Manager assignees) for a client changes, the template can be reapplied to automatically update task assignments for that client.
Applying templates
How task template logic functions in Double:
Task templates apply changes to the latest close only
Templates never delete existing tasks
š” Applying a template will not remove any existing tasks from the client.š” Deleting a task from a template does not delete it from the client
Tasks with the exact same name are updated
Due date
Assignee
Description
Checklists, subtasks, and sign-offs
š” To prevent a template from overwriting an identical task, change the taskās name in the client's close by adding a period or another character š»
Blank template fields do not overwrite existing values
š” If the clientās task includes an assignee or due date, but the same task in the template leaves those fields blank, those client values will remain unchanged.
Best Practices
Always verify that the latest close is accurate and complete before creating future or previous closes.
Use templates to standardize tasks and reduce manual effort.
Default task template
Double comes pre-loaded with the Default task template. This template can be duplicated to create a new version, but it is locked and cannot be modified or deleted.
The default task template is a great resource for clients that need all of their file review tasks (like transaction review section reports) restored all at once.
Set new template as close default
Designate closing task templates as the default (as opposed to Double's pre-built "Default task template") by going to:
Templates > Tasks (Quick link)
Go to the desired template
Click the 3 dots under the template name
Select "Set as close default"
Practice Settings > Practice Management > Workflows (Quick link)
Go to Monthly close settings > Default closing template
Select the desired closing template from the drop down
This feature lets firms designate their own template as the default instead.
Clicking "Set as close default" on a template with a closing section makes that template the one auto-applied whenever an unconnected client is connected to a ledger going forward instead of Double's generic default.
Community templates
Task templates can be published to the Double community of users to share best practices.







